I Love Waterfalls

Sorry about the “No Blog” Monday but I returned from a Saturday afternoon workshop to wake up Sunday with a fever and blistering headache. As they like to say around here, “If I didn’t have bad luck, I wouldn’t have any luck”.

Here’s a shot I took last month during the spring Texas Landscape Safari workshop at Pedernales Falls State Park near Johnson City, the home town of President Lyndon Baines Johnson. This is one of my favorite spots to photograph in the entire state because every visit presents me with new opportunities to shoot as river’s currents change from one day to the next. You could come here with a camera every day for a year and never get the same shot twice.

Upper Pedernales Falls

Upper Pedernales Falls – Johnson City, Texas
Copyright © 2010 Jeff Lynch Photography
Shot taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark II set on aperture priority (Av) using an EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM lens tripod mounted. The exposure was taken at 100mm, f/25 for 1/5th of a second at ISO 100 using a Singh-Ray circular polarizer and 3-stop graduated neutral density filter. All post capture processing was done in Adobe’s Lightroom 3 Beta 2. Click on the image above for a larger version.

4 thoughts on “I Love Waterfalls

  1. Hello Jeff. I’ve been following (and am a huge fan) of your blogs! I’ve never used a ND filter before, and was wondering if you could give me a quick summary of when to use a 2-stop, 3-stop and 4-stop ND filter? I currently use a 550D, but am still learning lots about my camera. Thanks heaps!

    • Haley,

      Thanks for reading. For most situations a 2 stop, soft, graduated neutral density filter works very well to balance the exposure between the scene’s foreground and background elements. Some folks prefer to use 3 stop ND grads but I find the effect to be a bit “over the top” for most situations. I also prefer to use the “soft” edge style ND grads for the same reason.

      Jeff

  2. I like this picture better than many because the photo of the waterfall was taken at an angle. When a photo is taken of a waterfall straight on, the silky look deprives the waterfall of the feeling that water is falling. The rest of the stream, unfortunately looks static, not like something that is moving.

Comments are closed.