Canon EOS 50D – Quick Control Screen

Its the little things in a new camera that really make a difference. Anyone that has ever had to navigate the menu system on the EOS 10D, 20D, 30D or 40D will love the new Quick Control Screen feature on the EOS 50D. If you feel the Canon menu system is complicated you should see what Nikon owners have to go through to set certain functions.

To access the Quick Control Screen all you need to do is press the multi-controller and use it to navigate to whatever function you want to change. Then use the Quick Control dial or Main dial to change the setting. And once you half-click the shutter the Quick Control Screen goes blank. This is especially helpful if, like me, you hate tilting the camera to see the top LCD panel when shooting.

Quick Control Display

15 thoughts on “Canon EOS 50D – Quick Control Screen

  1. Somehow I have turned the LCD screen off – I use the view finder exclusively and did not want to waste the battery running the LCD. However, I would like to turn it on again to use for focusing the shot in manual mode where the magnifier supposedly works. Having been through the entire EOS 50D manual several times, I cannot find what I used to turn off the LCD in the first place! And, of course, that means I cannot find how to turn it on again.

    Thanks for the help.

    Luke

  2. Quick Control Screen will not shut off. Pushing the Info Button twice works to shut the Screen off. Thanks

  3. I do not have the boottom line too, I love it. I have bought camera at Europe, firmware version 1.07.

  4. Has anybody figured out why the Quick Control Screen stays on sometimes no matter what you do to the camera. It’s driving me nuts.

  5. I also can’t figure out how to turn off the Quick Control menu. I like it but don’t want it on all the time. A click on the multicontroller just selects the function to change. Hitting the menu button twice just shows the menu then hides it but still returns to the Quick Control Screen.

    There’s got to be a way to turn it off!
    Thanks,

    • Rick,

      You should be able to click (push once) on the multi-controller to bring up the Quick Control Screen and click again to return to a blank LCD. If that doesn’t work you should be able to click twice on the MENU button to blank the LCD display. And if that doesn’t work try clearing all the custom function to reset the camera to the factory defaults.

      PS – Thanks for reading!

      Jeff

  6. My quick control screen does NOT display the bottom line that you show, ie the one with the battery check info, number of possible shots, etc. I have recently upgraded to the latest version of firmware…1.06.
    Any ideas??
    Thanks, Jack

    • Jack,

      Thanks for reading. I have no idea why your screen and mine should look different. I bought my EOS 50D here in the US and have upgraded the firmware using the US version. How about you?

      Jeff

  7. I love this screen, however I can’t turn mine off! I’m so desperate for help and cannot find this issue online. Any thoughts?

    • Angela,

      You should be able to click (push once) on the multi-controller to bring up the Quick Control Screen and click again to return to a blank LCD. If that doesn’t work you should be able to click twice on the MENU button to blank the LCD display. And if that doesn’t work try clearing all the custom function to reset the camera to the factory defaults.

      PS – Thanks for reading!

      Jeff

  8. Is this a new feature of the 50D Jeff, or an older feature revised from the 40D? I’m still waiting gor the 40D to arrive and I’m curious.

Comments are closed.