Wings Over Houston – Thunderbirds

Here are another two images I took last Saturday at the Wings Over Houston air show. The first was inspired by an image I saw on Moose Peterson’s Reno Air Races Begin post. The second image shows just how precise these pilots are during their maneuvers. These F-16 fighters were less than ten feet apart during takeoff.

Warrior

Warrior
Copyright © 2008 Jeff Lynch Photography
Shot taken with a Canon 40D hand-held, EF 300mm f/4L IS USM at 300mm, f/6.7 for 1/500th of a second at ISO 200 on SanDisk digital film. All post capture processing was done in Lightroom 2 and Noise Ninja. Click on the image above for a larger version.

Precision Takeoff

Precision Takeoff
Copyright © 2008 Jeff Lynch Photography
Shot taken with a Canon 40D hand-held, EF 300mm f/4L IS USM at 300mm, f/8 for 1/500th of a second at ISO 200 on SanDisk digital film. All post capture processing was done in Lightroom 2 and Noise Ninja. Click on the image above for a larger version.

2 thoughts on “Wings Over Houston – Thunderbirds

  1. Mark you bum!

    I’m completely jealous. How did you get to meet Moose? Were you at the NY dinner with Joe, Moose, Kevin and Laurie?

    Yes, this image was inspired by Moose’s shots from the Reno Air Races.

    BTW – I’m getting to know Josh Bradley who used to be Moose’s assistant. He may be in the Houston area and we’re going to do a little wildlife shooting together.

    I’m green wit envy!
    (I’m Irish so I’m always a little green anyway)

    Jeff

  2. Wow, that top photo is awesome, Jeff! Hope you’re planning on printing and framing and hanging that one. Reminds me of some of the stuff Moose Peterson (who I got to meet last week!) shoots, or McNally’s stuff with the Blue Angels.

    Check my link above…I shot different wings recently. I call it “Tail. Lights.”

    Great work. Hope you post more from this set.

Comments are closed.